• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    • become my fan on facebook!

      Just click HERE

    The Answer to No More Boring Leftovers

    Sometimes I like to use the weekend to prepare meals for the week ahead – especially when I know I have a lot on my plate. But I also don’t necessarily like to rely on leftovers. It’s easy to get burnt out after eating the same thing three days in a row. Which is why I got the idea to prepare a base using ground turkey that I could use to make multiple meals throughout the week.

    I combined the turkey with some other basic ingredients and a marinade that would keep the turkey moist and flavorful. Then I kept it tightly wrapped in the refrigerator, taking out only the amount that I need each day.  


    It may appear that there’s a lot of specialized ingredients, but these simple and inexpensive additions to your cabinet will enable you to make a huge amount of asian dishes, so it really is worth it!  You can alter the marinade as you wish. 

    Asian Ground Meat Marinade


    Serves for three-four meals
    Leftover Potential: made for more interesting leftovers.  Provides 3-4 meals.

    1 lb. ground turkey, pork, or other meat
    1 container mushrooms, finely chopped
    1 bunch scallions, finely chopped
    5 cloves garlic, finely minced
    2 Tbsp ginger, finely minced
    1/3 cup soy sauce
    3 Tbsp  fish sauce
    1/8 cup rice vinegar
    1 Tbsp cayenne pepper

    1. Mix ingredients to combine.  Add more ingredients as necessary.

    ***Check following posts for the meals made using this mixture.

    Other options:
    -saute the ground meat with veggies and noodles for a stir fry.
    – saute the ground meat and serve with lettuce leaves and raw veggies for wraps.
    -form the meat into balls, cook until done, and cover with a spicy curry or other sauce.  

    One Response

    1. I made this, and it made a TON! I was surprised. Now, did you mean for it to be a tablespoon of cayenne? I used a teaspoon, and the meat was just on the edge of too hot.

    Leave a Reply

