• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

No More Boring Leftovers Continued: Homemade Dumplings

I love dumplings.  If you’ve read my previous blog, you know that the day I discovered how easy they are to make was a very happy day in my house.  And just to make the whole thing even easier, the pre-made ground meat mixture is waiting for me in the fridge when I come home.  I can take out just the right amount  to make 6, 10, or 20 dumplings depending on how many people I’m feeding. 


Paired with some frozen edamamme, it’s a super simple and really delicious meal prepared in no time!

Homemade Dumplings


Served 2.
Leftover Potential: Take out just the right amount of meat so that there will be no leftovers!

Dough:
1 1/2 cups flour
pinch salt
1/2 cup water, or as needed
1.  Mix flour and salt together well.  
2.  Slowly add water, mixing dough into a smooth mixture that comes together completely.  Add more water as needed.
3.  Cover with a damp paper towel and let sit for 15 minutes.

Finishing:
soy sauce or sweet chili sauce, for dipping

1.  Roll the dough into a thin log, about 1/2″ thick.  Using a knife, cut the dough into even pieces.
2.  Roll each piece of dough into a thin circle (about an 1/8″ thick).  Place some filling in the center.  
3.  Dip your finger into some water, and run it around the edge of the dough.  Bring the edges together in the center, and press firmly to seal.
4.  Pan fry or steam as desired.  Pan frying will take about 4 minutes, steaming will take 3-5 minutes.  
5.  Serve with dipping sauce and salted edamamme!
One Response

  1. […] one food that are wonderful when cooked using one of our favorite methods: steaming. I also love to make my own dumplings with fresh dough, but we were feeling lazy one Sunday, and stood in the aisle looking down at pre-made thin wonton […]

Leave a Reply

