• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

A Cake for the Cousins

I don’t have much family on the East coast. Just about everybody is in the Midwest – which makes trips home extra special. However, I don’t get to make those trips as often as I’d like, so I feel quite fortunate to have re-discovered two of my cousins who live in Brooklyn. They are fabulous – and before I moved to New York, we hadn’t seen eachother since we were children. But now, going home is even more fun because the night before I fly out of New York, I stay with them. To show my gratitude, I always bring them something tasty – bread, chocolates, desserts, and so on.

The last time I saw these lovely cousins was in the fall, and the oldest cousin was celebrating her recent domestic partnership. So this time, when I knew I was to see them, I wanted to make them something to celebrate it also. What else does a baker know how to do for that occasion other than make a cake?


Now, this is in no way Apartment Kitchen fare. It’s a four layer lemon pound cake with whipped lemon infused white chocolate ganache decorated with fondant, royal icing, and gumpaste flowers. It required various pieces of special equipment (that I either had to borrow or do without) and it was much more time consuming than the other recipes I post on this site. However, it WAS made in The Apartment Kitchen, so I am posting it anyway – with yet another thanks for my fabulous cousins!

2 Responses

  1. Erin, that is a stunning cake, and it sounds delicious. Lucky cousins!

  2. […] “oooh” and “ahhh” and “HOW did you make that?”. Sort of like my four layer lemon domestic partnership cake. Snazzy, if I do say so myself. But there are also those desserts that maybe didn’t turn […]

Leave a Reply

