• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Soft Shell Crab with Asparagus and Mushroom Salad

A few weeks ago, I had a realization. Every year, I appreciate the change of the seasons more and more. I feel an incredible sense of invigoration as everything turns green and pink and yellow. And as much as anything, my tastebuds feel it. Fresh veggies, ripe fruits, and one of my favorite things in the world: soft shell crabs.

Sauteed in a little bit of oil, this delicious crustacean is amazingly crispy and tastes amazing. You can pair it with anything: my friend Terri pan-fried it and served it over a bed of ricotta dressed pasta with wilted arugula. I suggested Matt pair it with some leftovers for a delicious sandwich. And I sauteed some spring asparagus with mushrooms and shallots for a warm, fresh salad as the base for my soft shell. They were all good – perfect matches using an impeccably fresh product.

Soft Shell Crabs with Asparagus and Mushroom Salad

Served 2.
Leftover Potential: The salad will keep well in the fridge for up to a week and is tasty hot and cold.


1 bunch asparagus, stalks cut in half

2 Tbsp olive oil
1 shallot, thinly sliced
1/2 leek, thinly sliced
1 1/2 cups mushrooms, thinly sliced
salt, as needed
pepper, as needed

2 soft shell crabs, cleaned
salt, as needed
pepper, as needed
flour, as needed
2-4 Tbsp oil

1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add the asparagus and cook until tender, about 4-5 minutes. If desired, shock in an ice bath to stop cooking and retain an especially green color. Set aside.
2. In a large saute pan, heat olive oil over medium high heat. Saute the shallots and leeks until tender. Add the mushrooms and cook until tender. Add the asparagus and toss. Season with salt and pepper.
3. Season the crab with salt and pepper. Dredge the crab in the flour to coat.
4. Heat the oil over medium high heat, and add the crab. Cook until the crab is bright red and crisp, about 4-5 minutes on each side. Serve over the mushroom and asparagus saute.


One Response

  1. Hi, nice post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for writing. I will certainly be subscribing to your site.

Leave a Reply

