• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    • become my fan on facebook!

      Just click HERE

    Lamb Kofta

    I am always keeping my eye out for new and varied proteins. When I saw fresh, grass-fed ground lamb at my farmer’s market this weekend – I was sold. I don’t cook lamb often because what’s available in my regular grocery store leaves a lot to be desired. As I searched my recipe “to do” list for what to make, I found it: Kofta. Kofta is a delicious combination of meat, onions, and lots of spices. This Indian version on Kofta (variations of which can be found throughout the Middle East and South Asia) also has paneer mixed in, which makes it very tender. I love to make my own paneer – it’s quick and easy and when you make it at home, you can flavor or season it however you like. It makes a good weekend project – I made my paneer on Sunday night, and my kofta Monday night for dinner. I finished it with a tomato-curry sauce.


    Lamb Kofta 

    Served 2.
    Leftover Potential: The whole mixture will chill and reheat well for up to two days. The paneer will lose it’s freshness after 2-3 days.

    Paneer
    1/2 gallon whole milk
    2 Tbsp lemon juice
    salt, as needed

    1. In a large pot, bring the milk to a boil over medium heat.
    2. When the milk has come to a rolling boil, turn off the heat, and add the lemon juice. Stir to combine, and cover until large curds form (15-20 minutes).
    3. Drain the mixture into a cheesecloth or paper towel lined strainer. Place the remaining curds onto a plate. Top with another plate, and weigh down with cans. Refrigerate until firm, at least 20 minutes (up to overnight). Drain any remaining liquid, season with salt and serve.

    Kofta
    1 Tbsp oil
    1 onion, diced
    2 Tbsp ginger, minced
    3 cloves garlic, minced

    1 pound ground lamb
    1/2 cup paneer, crumbled
    3 Tbsp cilantro, roughly chopped
    1 tsp cumin
    1 Tbsp garam masala
    1 small pinch cayenne pepper
    salt, as needed
    pepper, as needed
    1/4 cup plain yogurt
    1 egg, lightly beaten
    1/2 cup bread crumbs (I used whole wheat, it really complemented the flavor of the lamb)

    oil, as needed for cooking

    1. In a medium sauté pan, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the onions, and sauté until translucent, 3-4 minutes. Add the ginger and garlic and sauté until fragrant, about 1 minute. Transfer half of the mixture to a large mixing bowl, reserving the remainder in the pan for the sauce.
    2. Add the remaining kofta ingredients to the onion, garlic, and ginger mixture. Mix well to combine. Roll the mixture into small balls, and cook in the oil in a large sauté pan over medium heat until cooked through, 6-8 minutes.

    Tomato Curry Sauce
    reserved onion/ginger/garlic
    1 cup crushed tomatoes
    1 Tbsp curry paste
    2 Tbsp garam masala
    1 small pinch cayenne pepper
    salt, as needed
    pepper, as needed

    2 large orange bell peppers, chopped

    1. Add the tomatoes, curry paste, garam masala, cayenne, salt and pepper to the reserved onion mixture. Stir completely to combine (be especially careful that the curry paste dissolves if it is thick) and to heat the mixture through.
    2. Add the bell peppers to the pan with the kofta. Allow them to cook slightly in the juices left in the pan. Then pour the finished sauce over the entire mixture. Toss lightly to coat, and serve.

    One Response

    1. Hi, cool post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for writing.

    Leave a Reply

