• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Triple Chocolate Cookies (Gluten Free)

My little cousin recently turned 15. I wanted to make her a birthday treat, but she has an allergy to wheat. So I turned to the best book I know on the subject (by the best expert I know): Gluten Free Baking by Chef Coppedge (one of my former teachers at the CIA). His book is amazing, namely due to his four special alternative flour blends that perfectly replicate all types of flours that are normally made with wheat. This recipe uses rice and almond flours, as well as three kinds of chocolate that will keep all chocolate lovers from noticing that it’s made with anything other than plain jane ingredients. And it makes an awesome gift for any chocolate lover – gluten free or not!


Triple Chocolate Cookies (Gluten Free)

Makes 1 dozen large cookies.
From Gluten Free Baking by Richard J Coppedge

1 cup white rice flour
1 cup almond flour
2 1/2 Tbsp cocoa powder
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 eggs
3/4 tsp vanilla extract
5 Tbsp butter, room temperature
2/3 cu brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup sugar
2 cups bittersweet chocolate, melted
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.
2. Sift together the rice flour, almond flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt.
3. Beat eggs and vanilla extract together and set aside.
4. Cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy.
5. Add the melted chocolated all at once to the creamed butter and sugar mixture and mix until just combined.
6. Blend in the egg mixture, scraping down the side of the bowl as necessary.
7. Add dry ingredients and blend just until fully incorporated.
8. Fold in the chocolate chips.
9. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Scoop out the cookies onto the pan.
10. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes; rotate the pan 180 degrees half way through baking.
11. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

One Response

  1. grain kick makes me think of…oats. Oats makes me think of Erin.

    Heart you!
    e

Leave a Reply

