• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Hot Pepper Jelly

One of my favorite foods are peppers. I love spice, but more than that, I love the flavor of peppers. A vendor at my favorite farmer’s market made a delicious hot pepper jelly that captured just that: the sweet and slightly spicy flavor of peppers. I finally asked her what kind of peppers she used, and her answer was all jalapenos. So I searched all my local stores for red jalapenos. When I found them, I did my best to capture the same flavor. And it worked – it was sweet and delicious and just a tad spicy. I would highly recommend it – it’s possibly my favorite recipe I’ve made in a long time.

Hot Pepper Jelly
Makes 4 pint jars of jelly.
Leftover Potential: The jelly will stay refrigerated, or it can be processed to stay in a cool place for several months.
3/4 pounds red jalapenos
2 cups cider vinegar, divided
6 cups sugar
1 pouch Certo liquid pectin

1. Halve the jalapenos. Seed the jalapenos based on how spicy you want the jelly. (Since red jalapenos are sweeter than green jalapenos, I seeded half of the jalapenos, but left the seeds with the other half. It made for a only very spicy jelly. Final spice can also be adjusted with red pepper flakes at the end of cooking.)

2. Transfer the peppers to a food processor or blender, with half of the vinegar. Transfer the mixture to a large pot. Add the remaining vinegar and sugar. Bring to a boil over medium heat. Boil for 10 minutes.

3. Stir in liquid pectin. Boil for 1 minute, until jelly begins to thicken. Remove from heat, and ladle into sterilized jars. If keeping in the fridge, close the jars and refrigerate. If planning to keep on the shelves, process, covered, in boiling water for 5-7 minutes, or until sealed.

9 Responses

  1. Your jelly looks great- what kind of cracker is that you’re serving it on?

  2. Wasa – my favorite! This one is the whole wheat.

  3. used to make it years ago………is absolutely
    delicious when used to baste pork chops and chicken on the old weber grill….

  4. I have been wanting to try a hot pepper jelly. They sound so good.

  5. […] Hot Pepper Jelly: I searched all my local stores for red jalapenos. When I found them, I did my best to capture the same flavor. And it worked – it was sweet and delicious and just a tad spicy. I would highly recommend it – it’s possibly my favorite recipe I’ve made in a long time. Recipe found at The Apartment Kitchen. […]

  6. Such an interesting recipe! Any chance you want to take part in a jam exchange? I’m hosting one this month over at my blog 🙂 http://stephchows.blogspot.com/2009/07/jam-exchange.html

  7. 3/4 pounds of jalapenos is a little more than I have seen in other recipes. Does this jelly pack some heat?

  8. Because I seed half of the peppers (and red jalapenos are generally sweeter than green), I would say this jelly is pretty mild. Feel free to seed all of the peppers if you’re afraid of too much spice, but the sugar always keeps it mild as well!

Leave a Reply

