• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Homemade Hamburger and Hot Dog Buns

I was given a request for a recipe for homemade hamburger and hot dog buns. The difference is pretty great – a lot of the stuff you can buy in the store has very little flavor, and much of it has the texture of a sponge. Plus making my own gives me the opportunity to make whole wheat buns, which are my favorite. This recipe works for both hamburger and hot dog buns – whole wheat and white flours – sesame seeds, poopy seeds or plain – and so on.

 

Homemade Hamburger/Hot Dog Buns

Makes 2 dozen buns
Leftover Potential: Freeze the finished buns or the shaped dough until ready to use.


Sponge
0.80 pounds/364 grams bread flour
0.68 pounds/309 grams milk, warm (not hot)
6 grams yeast


Dough
0.80 pounds/364 grams bread (or whole wheat) flour
0.36 pounds/ 162 grams milk, warm (not hot)
83 grams butter, soft
58 grams honey
17 grams salt
sponge

egg wash, as needed (1 egg, 1 yolk, 1 Tbsp water, pinch of salt)


1. Mix the ingredients for the sponge in an electric mixer for 4 minutes on first speed, or mix by hand in a large bowl for 7-8 minutes. Cover, and set aside for 30 minutes.
2. Mix the ingedients for the final dough in an electric mixer for 4 minutes on first speed, and 2 minutes on medium speed. Or mix by hand for 8-10 minutes. Place dough into a lightly oiled bowl and let sit until doubled in size, about 45 minutes.
3. Place dough on a floured surface. Divide into roughly 24 even pieces (dough for hot dog buns should be slightly smaller than that for hamburger buns – about 3/4 of the size). Use your hands to roll the dough into tight balls for hamburger buns, or roll into logs for hot dog buns (roughly 4-5 inches long). Place the buns onto sheet trays. Egg wash the buns and also to rest until double in size, about 30-45 minutes.
4. Egg wash again (now would be the time to add a sprinkle of sesame seeds or other garnish). Bake in a 400 degree oven until browned and baked through, 8-10 minutes. Allow to cool completely, then halve and serve!

5 Responses

  1. Er…I don’t know if it’s stupid to send you this link, because maybe you, like, know this person or something? Maybe that’s who requested it? But – seen this?

    http://smittenkitchen.com/2009/05/slaw-tartare/

    I don’t know her (I barely know you, either, technically, but you did introduce me to the “Tsampa drink,” and I will forever consider you a friend for that) so I’m too shy to send her your link. If this IS just a wacky coincidence and you don’t know each other or whatever, then I demand that you do it.

  2. I’ve really wanted to try making my own bread but the idea of using yeast scares me a bit!

    justalittlepiece.wordpress.com

  3. Thanks! I’ll try them next week.

  4. hi, can you covert all those grams to cups and spons

  5. HI, can you convert all those grams to cups and spons

Leave a Reply

