• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Curried Chicken Soup

I’ve been sick for a couple days. I wanted some chicken soup to warm me up, but I definitely didn’t want plain old chicken soup. I looked at what I had in my pantry (one of the beauties of making soup is using what’s on hand) and decided on a fresh and light chicken and vegetable soup with a touch of curry and coconut milk. It was the perfect pick me up that was tossed together in no time, allowing me plenty of time for a nap.

Curried Chicken Soup with Corn, Peppers, and Mushrooms

Makes about 2 quarts
Leftover Potential: As with all soup, it keeps and reheats very well. Freezing would also be a possibility.

1 Tbsp olive oil
2 shallots, minced
1/2 cup cilantro, roughly chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 (15 oz) can coconut milk
5-6 cups chicken stock
2-3 Tbsp red curry paste
zest and juice of one lime
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 jalapeno, seeded, minced
1 Tbsp ginger, minced
2 scallions, very thinly sliced
1 cup mushrooms, thinly sliced
1/2 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
1 cup corn kernels
1 cup chicken, cooked, shredded

scallions, thinly sliced, for garnish
jalapenos, thinly sliced, for garnish
cilantro, roughly chopped, for garnish
avocado, thinly sliced, for garnish
lime wedges, for garnish

1. In a large pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the shallots, cilantro, and garlic. Cook until fragrant, 2-3 minutes. Add the coconut milk and chicken stock, and bring to a simmer. If a smoother broth is desired, strain this mixture, pressing the solids to release all liquid, and return the liquid to the pot. Otherwise, let the mixture continue to simmer. Add the red curry, lime zest, and juice.
2. In a saute pan, heat the oil over medium heat. Add remaining ingredients (except garnish) and cook until heated through, 3-4 minutes. Add to the broth. Simmer until the mixture has reached desired flavor, and season with salt.
3. Ladle the soup into large bowls and garnish as desired.



8 Responses

  1. This sounds wonderful and I always think soups must take so long to make.

    justalittlepiece.wordpress.com

  2. If I could make this soup with a bout of the stomach flu, anyone can!

    Especially if you’re making brothy soups or stews, they can take as little as 15 minutes to put together – sometimes with a little more time for the flavors to simmer together.

  3. That sounds delicious! Added to the menu for this weekend!

  4. Mmm! Oh, this looks like it would totally hit the spot right about now. Will definitely have to try this soon!

  5. Yum! Your blog always makes me hungry.

    By the way, my sister Deb noticed that the link to my blog in your sidebar isn’t quite right. It’s http://storytellingnotes.blogspot.com/

    Thanks!
    Priscilla

  6. This soup sounds really tasty!

  7. This dish was just delicious! The only thing I changed was I added some cauliflower. I ate it all week and it was just as good on the last day as on the first. This will totally be a new go-to soup for me when I’m sick 🙂

    Thanks so much for sharing,
    Robyn

  8. Best thing about having the flue is the chicken soup. Made this one today and it is great. Fast and easy to cook. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

