• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    • become my fan on facebook!

      Just click HERE

    Caramelized Onion Polenta with Sausage and Cauliflower Ragu

    I used to think it was strange that I read cookbooks feverishly as though they were page-turning novels. Now I know it is – but the amazing world of food magazines and online recipes have deepened my love for the written food word. And no matter how crazy it is, I can’t help it. It’s more than the glossy pages and mouth-watering pictures. For me, it’s the format the amounts and ingredients take on the page. The way they sit is so incredibly inviting as though begging me to try it myself.

    But I’ve also finally got some cook’s blood in me (I am a trained baker) and I use recipes as ideas and rarely follow them exactly. This idea came from a couple different places to the point that it’s my own recipe – though I proudly admit it is inspired by all of those glossy pages that I love so much.

    Caramelized Onion Polenta with Sausage and Cauliflower Ragu


    Served 1.
    Leftover Potential: Sometimes polenta loses a little bit of its silkiness in reheating, but not enough to make too huge of a difference, as the ragu should keep it relatively moist. Made 1 snack after the initial dinner.

    Polenta
    1 Tbsp olive oil
    1/2 onion, thinly sliced

    3/4 cup milk
    1/4 cup polenta
    2-3 Tbsp parmesan cheese
    salt and pepper, as needed

    1. In a small saute pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions and saute until evenly caramelized.
    2. Meanwhile, heat the milk in a small pot. When it is warm, add the polenta, and stir lightly. Cook for 3 minutes, or until the polenta has absorbed all the liquid. If the mixture looks dry, add more warm milk.
    3. Stir in the cheese and caramelized onions, season with salt and pepper.

    Ragu
    1 Tbsp olive oil
    1/2 onion, diced
    1/4 cup ground sausage
    1/2 cup cauliflower, thinly sliced
    1 clove garlic, minced

    1/2 cup tomato puree
    1 Tbsp basil, roughly chopped
    2 tsp parsley, roughly chopped
    salt and pepper, as needed
    1. In a medium pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and sausage, and saute until the onions are beginning to become translucent and the sausage is beginning to brown.
    2. Add the cauliflower, and saute until lightly caramelized. Add the garlic, and saute until fragrant.
    3. Add the tomato, and bring the mixture to a simmer, stirring occasionally.
    4. Season with herbs, salt, and pepper. Simmer until good flavor has developed, and serve atop the finished polenta. Mmmm….
    3 Responses

    1. What an interesting combination of ingredients. It sounds delicious!

    2. I think I was about 18 when I realized that the Joy of Cooking was crammed with fabulous information. It became my bedtime reading. I still do this.

    3. […] putanesca, carbonara, etc. and applying them to non-typical items. Like beans bourguignon or the cauliflower ragu I made a few weeks ago. Keeps flavors classic but ideas […]

    Leave a Reply

