• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Giant Burritos with All the Fixins!

There are two parts to this story.

1. I don’t generally love chain restaurants. Sure, I am the occasional patron, but you’d be hard-pressed to find me frequenting the fast food or family-style restaurants that crowd every town’s restaurant landscape. But as with everything, there is one (huge) exception. Chipotle. Oh, how I miss Chipotle. In my hometown, there was one very near my house, and another one on the edge of town – both working to satisfy my gigantic burrito needs. But there is no Chipotle in Hyde Park or it’s surrounding cities. It was a devastating blow to my college years.

2. Funny things happen when you’re jetlagged. Usually, I am dead tired upon returning from a trip of some magnitude and I lounge in bed and struggle to get through the first week as I readjust to reality and my new time zone. But I think I was so used to operating on very little sleep on my European trip, that normal sleeping hours in bed have confounded me. The first night we were home, Matt and I slept at about midnight and found ourselves wide awake at 5:30 a.m. The next day, it was 6:00, and so on. As we strolled the aisles of the grocery store (the only thing to do anywhere at 6:00 a.m. on a Sunday morning), we realized that by shopping for a meal this early, we could do something I hardly ever do on the apartment kitchen – slow cooking techniques. This defies one of the rules I try to abide by – it is not QUICK. But, it’s so incredibly easy that I believe it cancels it out.

It’s the perfect kind of thing to do on a Sunday. Dry rub some ribs, and stick them in the oven at a low temperature, and leave them alone. Then shred the meat, layer it with toppings, and you have one very happy reproduction.

Giant Burritos with Slow-Roasted Spiced Pork and All the Fixins
Served 2.
Leftover Potential: All of these things keep extremely well, except the tortillas, which are never as good the next day. Try what we did – use leftover ingredients to make a burrito bowl or taco salad – it will use up all of the leftovers in a little bit of a new way. Made 2 meals after the initial dinner.
Slow-Roasted Spiced Pork

1 Tbsp cumin

1 Tbsp paprika
2 tsp coriander
1 small pinch cayenne pepper
2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 1/2 pounds pork spare ribs

1. In a small bowl, mix the spices together to combine. Evenly apply the dry rub to the ribs. If it appears you’ll be needed more dry rub, double the recipe to ensure all the ribs have great flavor.
2. Place the ribs on a baking sheet in a 270 degree oven. Roast the ribs for 45 minutes, then turn each rib over using tongs, and roast for another 45 minutes.
3. Remove the ribs from the oven. Gently sprinkle sugar over the tops of the finished ribs, and turn the oven up to broil. Finish the ribs for 3 minutes under the broiler. Allow to cool slightly, and peel the meat from the bone. Set aside.

Mama’s Salsa
2 (14 oz) cans of diced tomatoes
1 (2 oz) can of diced green chilies
1/2 red onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
4 green onions, thinly sliced
1/4 cup cilantro, roughly chopped
salt and pepper, as needed

1. Mix all ingredients to combine in a large bowl. Transfer to the bowl of a food processor, and process lightly until smooth. Place the ingredients back in the bowl, and allow flavors to meld under refrigeration for at least 1/2 hour.

Fixins
guacamole (1 avocado, diced; 1/2 red onion, diced; 1 clove garlic, minced; 2 Tbsp cilantro, chopped; salt and pepper, as needed – mash to combine)
rice (1/4 cup rice; 1/2 cup water or broth; salt and pepper as needed; garnish with lime juice and cilantro)
corn and black bean mash (combine in a bowl, mashing the black beans slightly to release starches)
tortillas (best with homemade tortillas, rolled out extra large (use a dinner plate as a template))
One Response

  1. […] done lacquered bacon (with brown sugar or maple syrup), spiced bacon (try the spice rub I used on ribs), or even pancetta. The L: -Good lettuce is crucial, and if you’re not picking from from […]

Leave a Reply

