• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Okonomiyaki

While Matt is a very willing and accepting taste tester, I like to use nights when I’m by myself to try new things or things that don’t quite meet his criteria. He’ll eat almost anything, but he definitely prefers a big slab of meat in the center of the plate. On nights when I’m on my own, I often opt for vegetarian or super-light dishes…like this awesome Okonomiyaki.

Okonomiyaki is a Japanese pancake made with vegetables. I got a basic recipe from Kevin at Closet Cooking, though I made a few tweaks – added different veggies (you can really use anything you need to use up) and added a tasty dipping sauce. It was quick, comforting, and used up a lot of veggies that were about to go bad! It was so good, I might have to reconsider and make this for Matt!

Okonomiyaki

Served 2.
Leftover Potential: I think this makes an awesome breakfast – reheat in a skillet and top with a fried egg! Made 1 meal after the initial dinner.

1 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup chicken stock
1 egg
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp soy sauce
1 1/2 cups cabbage, shredded
1/2 zucchini, shredded
1/2 cup mushrooms, chopped
2 green onions, thinly sliced
3 slices bacon, cooked, chopped

1 Tbsp sesame oil

3 Tbsp soy sauce
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp Sriracha
1 tsp ginger, minced
1 tsp garlic, minced

1. In a medium bowl, mix the flour, stock, egg, Worcestershire, soy, veggies, and bacon to combine.
2. Heat the sesame oil in a large saute pan over medium heat. Pour in the batter, and cook until nicely browned on each side, 7-9 minutes per side.
3. In a small bowl, mix the remaining soy, Worcestershire, sriracha, ginger, and garlic to combine.
4. Garnish with scallions and serve warm with the dipping sauce.
One Response

  1. Looks good! I like the sound of that dipping sauce.

Leave a Reply

