• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    • become my fan on facebook!

      Just click HERE

    Creamy Mustard Chicken Sandwiches with Basil, Mushrooms, and Sundried Tomatoes

    Eating healthier is easy when you remember one thing: make things that are naturally healthy. I find that my efforts used to be wasted trying to make a “healthy pizza”, cream soup, or the like. When I eat those foods, I want to enjoy them and all of their wonderful, fatty, high calorie-ness.

    This chicken sandwich was wonderfully satisfying on a Sunday afternoon – a thick and flavorful sauce gave the other ingredients a boost. Served on a crusty whole wheat baguette with veggies and fruits from the farmer’s market, it was a wonderful lazy day meal that didn’t leave us feeling like sloths afterwards.


    Creamy Mustard Chicken Sandwiches with Basil, Mushrooms, and Sundried Tomatoes


    Served 2.
    Leftover Potential: If you have any of the chicken mixture left over, eat it cold on a salad the next day.

    1 Tbsp olive oil
    1 clove garlic, minced
    1 shallot, thinly sliced
    1 cup white wine
    3 Tbsp Dijon mustard
    1 Tbsp butter, room temperature
    1 Tbsp flour
    1/4 cup sundried tomatoes, thinly sliced
    1/4 cup mushrooms, thinly sliced
    1 pound chicken, roasted, shredded
    2 Tbsp basil, chiffonade
    salt and pepper, as needed

    toasted baguette

    1. In a pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the garlic and shallot, and saute until the shallots are translucent, about 2 minutes.
    2. Add the wine and bring to a simmer. Let the liquid boil until it’s reduced by about half (no need to be exact). Stir in the mustard.
    3. In a small bowl, mash the butter and flour together with a fork. Gently stir it into the mustard sauce. Add the sundried tomatoes and mushrooms. Gently heat until the mushrooms are tender. Stir in the shredded chicken, and season the mixture with basil, salt, and pepper.
    4. Spread the mixture onto toasted bread and serve warm.

    2 Responses

    1. I will definitely try this. I was initially confused by the word “creamy” because I am lactose intolerant and discovered, oh joy, that there is no cream or mayo in it. Thank you! Cream sauces and spreads using cream cheese or sour cream are definitely a non-no for me.

    2. I’m glad you’ll be trying it! Using flour to thicken the wine/mustard sauce gives it a thick texture and a silky, creamy appearence! Let me know how it goes!

    Leave a Reply

