• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Coconut Red Curry Lentils n’ Rice

This blog is about food…but a few people have pointed out to me that the little snippets of text here and there really tie it together. Because it’s not always enough to grab a recipe and run – some of you like a little splash of real life in there too.

We had a fire at my house this week. Yes. It doesn’t get much more real than that. There is minimal damage and everyone and everything is safe (minus my bath mats, shower curtain, toilet seat and the tile in the bathroom). It happened in the middle of the night, which made it extra scary and I spent the next day recovering by ordering Chinese food. Yes…I don’t cook well (for myself) under pressure. But by the next day I had gathered my head and made something simple – a one pot meal that was fast and easy but quite comforting in it’s own right. Lentils and brown rice smothered in creamy coconut red curry. It was delicious and wonderfully spicy (great with a glass of something spritzy). You know what they say, after all, – fight fire with fire…

Coconut Red Curry Lentils n’ Rice

Served 1.
Leftover Potential: You can add any kind of veggies or meat you want to this, which makes it a great meal to make with leftovers. I’ve even made a similar meal substituting other grains: quinoa, barley, split peas, etc.

1/3 cup lentils and rice (combined
2/3 cup vegetable stock
1 Tbsp sesame oil
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tsp ginger, minced
1/2 bunch scallions, thinly sliced
1 1/2 Tbsp red curry paste
3/4 cup coconut milk
3/4 cup veggies (I used carrots, celery, cauliflower, peas, and mushrooms…but you can use anything on hand – just remember to cut them all to roughly the same size…)

cilantro, roughly chopped for garnish
scallions, minced, for garnish

1. In a small pot, bring the lentils/rice and stock to a boil. Cover, and lower the heat to a simmer. Cook until all of the liquid has evaporated. If the mixture is not done, add a little more liquid and continue to cook until they are tender. Transfer to a bowl.
2. Heat the oil in the pot over medium heat. Add the garlic, ginger, and scallions and saute until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add he curry paste, stirring to combine. Add the coconut milk, and bring the mixture to a simmer.
3. Stir in the veggies, and cook over medium heat until they are tender, about 5-8 minutes. Stir in the cooked lentils and rice. Serve warm with cilantro and scallions.

I know, I know – this is so easy I probably didn’t need to post a recipe! But it is so, so good!



4 Responses

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your fire, but thank goodness you are all safe and you are back to semi-normal life.

  2. Oh genius girl. I have coconut milk left over from the Thai burgers I made last week, and was mulling over what to make with it, and maybe some red curry paste. Thanks for the idea.

  3. Not about this recipe, but I didn’t see another “general” comment link.

    It’s not the “apartment kitchen” theme, but have you seen the movie “Julie & Julia”? I bet your followers would love to hear your comments on the movie, it being so popular. Before seeing the movie, I am reading Julia Child’s biography by Laura Shapiro, which is both short and interesting. Good Summer humor.

  4. I haven’t seen it yet, but look forward to it! Have you read the book it’s based on? Very entertaining!

Leave a Reply

