• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    • become my fan on facebook!

      Just click HERE

    Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich with Sundried Tomato Pesto and Fresh Mozzarella

    One of my favorite pastimes is roaming the produce aisle at Adams Fairacre Farms. I know I’ve waxed poetic about well-stocked groceries and farmer’s markets before, but every time I go to Adams, I’m reminded why I love to cook. It’s like a dream – all of the produce is gleaming and primarily local, the cheese section is a mile long, and the butcher and fish counters are after my own heart with fresh daily cuts and catches.

    Over the weekend, it was a tiny Italian eggplant that caught my eye. Even though they’re overpriced because of their cuteness, I couldn’t resist a 2 inch beauty. The idea struck to make a Mediterranean veggie sandwich. I supplemented my eggplant with bell pepper, squash, mushrooms, and red onions. I bought a loaf of crusty bread, a round of freshly pulled mozzarella, and went home – giddier than usual. The resulting lunch kept me smiling all day!

    Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich with Sundried Tomato Pesto and Fresh Mozzarella

    Served 1.
    Leftover Potential: I tossed the remaining roasted veggies and pesto with some pasta for a quick lunch the following day! Made 1 meal after the initial lunch.

    1/4 cup sundried tomatoes
    1/4 cup basil
    2 cloves garlic
    3-5 Tbsp olive oil
    salt and freshly ground pepper, as needed

    1 Italian eggplant or 1/2 regular eggplant, diced
    1 yellow squash, diced
    1 bell pepper, diced
    1 red onion, roughly chopped
    1 cup mushrooms, quartered

    3 slices fresh mozzarella cheese
    1/2 baguette, halved

    1. In a food processor or blender, process the tomatoes, basil, and garlic to make a smooth paste. Slowly add olive oil in a stream, mixing until the mixture is well combined. Season with salt and pepper. (Alternately, you can chop all the ingredients finely and mix in the oil by hand, which makes a chunkier but equally delicious pesto!)
    2. Toss the cut veggies (just roughly chop them into pieces of roughly the same size) in the pesto. Spread the mixture onto a baking sheet, and roast in a 350 degree oven until the veggies are tender, about 15 minutes.
    3. Remove the veggies from the oven. Place the mozzarella on one half of the baguette, and a few spoonfuls of the veggies on the other. If you like, place this back in the oven to make sure the cheese is extra melty and the bread is toasted. Serve warm.
    One Response

    1. That is one really tasty looking sandwich!

    Leave a Reply

