• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Corn Dosas with Curried Black Beans and Corn and Cilantro Sauce

Being a bit of a blogging rookie, I was bit nervous to join the Daring Cooks. But at the end of the day…I look forward to cooking dinner all day long and I’m always up for a challenge – just the stuff a Daring Cook is made of!

I love Indian food. So I was delighted when the September Daring Cook’s Challenge (my first challenge!) was announced as dosas, which I love. I also loved that Debyi, the host for this month’s challenge chose a recipe that’s vegan and gluten free! I have a friend who is a vegan and the key to making delicious treats she loves is making things that are naturally vegan – like these dosas!

However, since I make Indian food a lot…I thought maybe I could try something different. Using some of my favorite spices common to Indian food, I changed the remaining ingredients slightly to make a Central American – Indian fusion dosa. Sound ridiculous? I swear it’s so good. The corn flour made a deliciously tender and flavorful dosa. The filling has the same texture and some of the great, spicy flavors of the original chickpea filling. And the creamy and fresh cilantro sauce cools it all down.

Corn Dosas with Curried Black Beans and Corn and Cilantro Sauce

Served 2.
Leftover Potential: The dosas can be refrigerated or frozen and reheated for later use. The filling and sauce stay well, refrigerated, for a few days.

Dosa Pancakes
1 cup corn flour (such as masa harina)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp curry powder
1/2 cup soy milk
3/4 cup vegetable broth

1. Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl, slowly adding the soy milk and water, whisking until smooth.
2. Heat a nonstick skillet over medium heat. Spray your pan with a thin layer of cooking spray, if needed
3. Ladle a few of batter into the center of your pan in a circular motion until it is a thin, round pancake. When bubbles appear on the surface and it no longer looks wet, flip it over and cook for a few seconds. Remove from heat and repeat with remaining batter. Makes 8 pancakes.

Curried Black Bean and Corn Filling
1 Tbsp oil
1 onion, minced
1/2 bunch scallions, thinly sliced
1 jalapeno, seeded, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 Tbsp tomato paste
2 Tbsp curry paste
1 (15 oz) can black beans
1 (15 oz) can corn kernels
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp coriander
1 Tbsp tumeric
2 tsp paprika
salt and freshly ground pepper

1. Heat a large saucepan over medium to low heat. Add the onion and scallions and saute until translucent, about 3-4 minutes. Add the jalapeno and garlic and saute until fragrant, about 1 minute.
2. Add the tomato paste and curry paste, and stir to combine. Add the black beans, corn, and spices. Simmer until the mixture is heated through and thickened slightly, 6-8 minutes.

Cilantro Sauce
1 cup cilantro
1/2 bunch scallions
1 clove garlic
1/4 cup coconut milk
1 tsp cumin
salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

1. Combine all ingredients to a smooth sauce in a food processor or blender.

10 Responses

  1. youre so good erin! missing you a bunch today

  2. Wow….I love the creativity, and being a fusion junkie myself, I completely loved your mix of CA with India! The filling sounds divine and the corn dosas are a ‘I wish I thought of that’ type of deal. Plus, your plating is gorgeous. Well done!

  3. Your Dosas look great! I love that you did a fusion recipe! Welcome to the Daring Kitchen!

  4. Wow! Your take on dosa’s sounds wonderful! I’ve bookmarked it and will have to try your version very soon! Great job on the challenge!

  5. Love your fusion!! The dosas sound (and look) delicious =D.

  6. Wow, I love your corn dosas and your filling sounds so delicious !
    Very creative. Great job!

  7. Looks great! Love the central american slant with the corn dosas and the black bean filling, looks delicious!!!

  8. Almost a corncake. Way to make the challenge your own. Too many of the cooks this month were no where near daring.

    The cilantro sauce made with coconut milk was kind of a surprise and now I want to try it.

    Welcome to the group.

  9. Thanks everyone for all your amazing feedback! I’m loving being a Daring Cook already!

  10. This was my first time cooking Indian so I pretty much stuck to the recipe, but your variation sounds delightful! Congrats on your first challenge!

Leave a Reply

