• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Crispy, Salty Plantains

Plantains are a virtually perfect food in my book. They can be crisp or soft, sweet or salty, fried or grilled – and make an amazing and overall crowd pleasing side dish. Anytime Matt and I see them at our favorite market (which isn’t too often), we grab up an armful and cook them. But with plantains, as with many of my favorite foods, it’s best to keep it simple. I almost feel silly writing a recipe for it…but I figured it could be a guideline for those who’ve never cooked them at home! A little bit of oil, a pinch of salt, and a few minutes is all you need for a delicious snack.

Crispy, Salty Plantains

Makes 4 servings (as a side or snack)
Leftover Potential: Its best to just keep your plantains and cook them as needed, as theyll lose their texture in storage.

3 large plantains, sliced about 1/4″ thick
oil, as needed for frying
salt, to taste

1. Heat about 1/4″ of oil in the bottom of a pan. When the oil is hot (shimmering), add the plantains (depending on the size of your pan, you may need to do it in batches, replenishing the oil as needed.
2. Cook the plantains until they are lightly browned, about 2-3 minutes per side.
3. Drain the plantains on absorbent paper towels, and generously salt them on both sides. They are delicious warm, but can be eaten once they’ve cooled to room temperature as well.
5 Responses

  1. I’ve never tried to cook plantains at home, but it’s on my list. These really look great!

  2. Oh yum. Plantains ARE perfect… I love eating them like this with a little crema.

  3. Nicole – I’m defintely going to have to try dipping them in some crema – YUM.

    Carrie – Try frying them twice – tostones are even better than these once-fried beauties 🙂

  4. Yum!! I love plantains! We can’t always find them either.

  5. as a puerto rican girl i can definitely say that double frying them is key. i slice them like in the picture, fry them once, then use a plantain smasher (two plates stacked on top of each other work just fine) and i smash them down and re-fry them. extra crunchy!

    also for dip..

    you can go the lazy way and mix a bit of ketchup with a larger bit of mayo and some crushed garlic

    or you can make mojo by using crushed garlic, olive oil, onion, lime juice, cilantro… this is less creamy but super flavorful.

Leave a Reply

