• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Brown Sugar Snickerdoodles with Brown Butter

My friend Rachel came to visit this weekend. I was excited. Very excited. I had been counting down for weeks. The night before she got here I was too pumped to relax (even though I was suffering not-so-nobly from a bad cold). So I got up, and baked these cookies. They were amazing. I am not tooting my own horn, here…because I had little to nothing to do with how awesome these cookies were. (Yes, I said were. These lasted about 2.5 seconds). Brown butter changes the flavor of an ordinary cookie. Plus I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to make it a warm, spicey, snickerdoodley cookie. (Another favorite thing is that you don’t need a mixer to make these cookies.)

Plus, it made the house smell amazing. So my guests decided to stay.

Brown Sugar Snickerdoodles with Brown Butter

Adapted from Cook’s Illustrated
Made 2 dozen

7 oz butter (14 Tbsp)

1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 Tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp freshly ground nutmeg

2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar

1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 Tbsp vanilla extract

1. Heat all but 2 oz (4 Tbsp) of the butter in a small saucepan over medium heat. Cook the butter until is golden in color (the solids will have browned) and smells nutty. This will take 5-6 minutes.
2. Place the remaining 2 oz of butter into a medium bowl, and pour the brown butter over it. Mix to combine. Let the brown butter cool.
3. In a bowl, combine the sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Set aside.
4. Mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a large bowl until combined.
5. Add the sugars to the cooled butter and mix until there are no lumps. Add the egg, yolk, and vanilla and mix well.
6. Pour the sugar/egg/butter mixture into the flour and mix just to combine. Roll the cookies into small balls (about 1″). Roll the cookies in the sugar/cinnamon mixture to coat.
7. Transfer the cookies to a baking sheet, and press down slightly. Bake in a 350 degree oven until the cookies are cooked through but still tender, about 12-14 minutes. Let cool, or eat warm!
3 Responses

  1. That looks amazing! I do love me a snickerdoodle.

  2. hey, so thanks for the tip about who to get in touch with. i called and got a hold of the right person. what is t knastys book about? hows rachel??? i chatted with allie briefly the other day, shes back in MI. hmm. beths in london too, im sure you know that tho.

    miss you! call soon! even if youre focaccied (throw back)

  3. I love brown butter! Delicious looking cookies…yum!

Leave a Reply

