• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Shortcut Tortellini Filled with Ricotta, Roasted Peppers, and Leeks

I saw this idea a few years ago in the blogosphere, and I sort of snubbed it. But I had a craving for fresh pasta (meaning, more than anything, I wanted to make a tasty filling), and I had some wonton wrappers (I usually find them in the refrigerated section at my store) around for making dumplings earlier in the week, so I gave it a shot. It was tasty and easy. It’s no replacement for fresh, homemade egg pasta BUT it’s a lot easier and a great solution for those without a pasta machine. Best of all, you can get creative with your fillings and get amazing results – fast.

And since this filling was delightfully pink, I wanted to take this opportunity to ask anyone and everyone out there to take some time to donate to a great cause. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month and it’s a great time to support a great cause that’s very close to my heart. Even if all you do is make this delicious ravioli for someone you love in your life!

 

Shortcut Tortellini Filled with Ricotta, Roasted Peppers, and Leeks

Served 2.
Leftover Potential: Saute these for a crisp alternative, or dredge in eggs and breadcrumbs and fry for a quick and easy starter!

1 Tbsp butter
1 bunch leeks, thinly sliced
3 cloves garlic
1/2 cup diced roasted red peppers
1/2 cup ricotta
salt and pepper, to taste

1 package wonton wrappers
1 Tbsp butter
1 lemon, zested and juiced
3 Tbsp parsley

1. In a saute pan, melt the butter over medium heat. Add the leeks and saute until tender, about 3-4 minutes. Add the garlic and saute until fragrant, about 1 minute more.
2. Transfer the leek mixture to a food processor or blender, and add the peppers and ricotta. Process until smooth. Season with salt and pepper. (Alternatively, you can just mix the filling ingredients together, and not blend them – it will also work for the stuffing and is one less step.)
3. Set up a small bowl of water with a pastry brush. Brush two of the edges lightly with water, place filling in the center. Fold one side over the other, encasing the filling, and pressing to seal. Brush one end with water, and press the ends together in the center. For more information on shaping tortellini, check out THIS great tutorial.
4. Cook the pasta in salted boiling water until tender, about 5-7 minutes. Drain.
5. Heat the remaining butter in a large saute pan. Add the ravioli, and saute to heat through. Finish with lemon juice, zest, and parsley. Toss to coat, and serve warm.

3 Responses

  1. This looks so delicious! (like the rest of your recipes)
    I love ricotta, leeks, and red peppers so I’m excited to try this dish at home.

  2. Wow, thanks! Let me know how it turns out for you!

  3. Even if it’s a shortcut it looks delicious! I should give this a try on a busy weeknight:)

Leave a Reply

