• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    • become my fan on facebook!

      Just click HERE

    Mudslide Cookies

    Sometimes I forget about the goodies available at the CIA. But when Shelly’s parents came to visit this weekend, I was reminded about one of the best treats to be found in those hallowed halls. The CIA has long been known for their Mudslide Cookie – a super chocolatey, oooey gooey cookie that people love, love, love. So when there was only one cookie left at the cafe, I promised them I could whip up some more at home.

    It could be that it’s slightly crisp on the outside, and soft on the inside. It could be the crunchy nuts and melted chocolate chunks. It could be that it has 10 times as much chocolate as it has flour. Yea…that’s probably it.

    Mudslide Cookies

    Made 1 dozen medium cookies
    Adapted from The Culinary Institute of America’s Baking and Pastry

    1 1/4 oz cake flour
    3/4 tsp baking powder
    pinch salt
    2 1/4 oz unsweetened chocolate
    8 oz bittersweet chocolate
    1 1/2 oz butter
    6 oz eggs
    8 oz sugar
    1/2 tsp vanilla
    2 1/4 oz walnuts, chopped
    9 oz chocolate chips

    1. Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt together in a small bowl.
    2. Melt the chocolates and butter together over a double boiler. Remove from heat and let cool slightly.
    3. In a large bowl, whip the eggs, sugar, and vanilla together until light and thick, about 4-6 minutes.
    4. Add the chocolate mixture, and mix to combine. Add the dry ingredients and mix just to combine. Stir in the walnuts and chocolate chips.
    5. Scoop the cookie dough onto a lightly greased baking sheet, press the dough down slightly. Bake the cookies in a 350 degree oven until set around the edges (they will still appear very soft in the middle), about 10-12 minutes. Cool on a wire rack.
    8 Responses

    1. Would these work if you left out the walnuts? R doesn’t like nuts in cookies or brownies, but you know he loves choc, especially baked goods.

    2. Absolutely. You could replace the walnuts with even more chocolate, if you like. It’s definitely a good occasion to use the good stuff.

    3. love the throw back to apbc days! what about the pb cookies too? loved those!!

    4. What are you doing to me! Stuck at the office, if only we had an oven!

    5. Come work in my office – we have several!!!!

    6. Don’t tempt me!

    7. I mean…wow. In my mouth. Now.

    8. I often hit up the Apple Pie Bakery for some of their sweet treats. Always the best! I’m going to try these cookies…they sound amazing:)

    Leave a Reply

