• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Quick Wonton Soup

I don’t (generally speaking) order a lot of take out. Ordering take out is sort of a special occasion for me. When I am too busy to cook, which is almost never, I have to admit it is fun to not only let someone else do the cooking for you, but bring it to your door as well.

Recent cravings for Chinese take out soup led me to this incredibly easy recipe. It may not be quite the same as your local take out joint, and it is certainly not traditional, but it was inspired by having several assorted cans of broth and not being sure what to do. I sort of “fortified” the broths with scallions, garlic, and ginger – and the mixture of the three broths was quite delicious and tasted fabulous with my standard wonton/dumpling filling. So, I’m calling it “Quick Wonton Soup”. Sure, it takes a little while to form the wontons, but the opening the can part couldn’t be easier. 🙂

Quick Wonton Soup

Served 4.
Leftover Potential: Reheats well, though the wontons can fall apart with excessive stirring and heating.


Wontons
1 package wonton wrappers (mine had about 50 wrappers)
1 lb ground pork
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 bunch scallions, minced
1 Tbsp ginger, minced
3 Tbsp soy sauce
1 Tbsp rice wine vinegar
2 tsp oyster sauce
sriracha, as needed

1. Open the wonton wrappers and cover them with a damp paper towel. Prepare a small bowl of water.
2. In a large bowl, combine the pork, garlic, scallions, ginger, soy, vinegar, oyster sauce, and sriracha.
3. Use your finger to dampen two sides of a wonton wrapper. Fill it with about 1 Tbsp of filling (don’t overfill or your wontons will burst).
4. Fold the wonton in half, to that the side with water encases the filling. Press to seal. Repeat with remaining wontons and filling.

***This makes more wontons than my soup needed, I panfried the rest to eat as an appetizer. You can use your judgement about how wonton-y you want it.

Soup
1 Tbsp oil
2 bunches scallions, minced
5 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbsp ginger, minced
freshly ground black pepper, to taste
2 (14 oz) cans chicken broth
2 (14 oz) cans vegetable broth
1 (14 oz) can beef broth
prepared wontons

1. In a large soup pot, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the scallions, garlic, and ginger, and saute until aromatic. Stir in the pepper.
2. Add the broths, and bring the mixture to a simmer. When it has reached a simmer, add the wontons, and simmer until they are cooked through, about 6-8 minutes.
3. Serve warm.

***You could add more flavoring ingredients to the broth, or use your own broth, and let it simmer for a while to let flavors develop before adding the wontons to cook.


One Response

  1. Quick wonton soup sounds great to me! Next time I get a craving for take out I will know what to do:)

Leave a Reply

