• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Spicy Ground Pork over Sauteed Scallions (“Ants on a Log”)

I’ll be heading home to Kansas this weekend to spend my first Thanksgiving in four years with my wonderful family. I’m loving the fact that my neice and nephew finally understand the concept of time so we can tell them “Aunt Erin will be home next weekend” and they get it. So this weekend, I was video-chatting with them (gotta love technology), and my neice asked “What are you eating?” – she could see my plate on the edge of the screen. I told her I’m eating a favorite Asian dish that’s called “Ants on a Log”. Her face crinkled up (she probably assumed I was eating real ants), but I heard my nephew bust in from the next room. “I KNOW WHAT THAT IS!!!!!!!!! ERIN! I KNOW WHAT THAT IS!” He was out of breath from excitement, and my dad was giggling in the background. “Celery and peanut butter! Are you eating celery and peanut butter?!?!?!?”

I said yes to prevent myself from falling out of my chair laughing, but in actuality this is a delicious main course and has nothing to do with peanut butter. I got the idea from one of my favorite cookbooks. The first time I made this dish for Matt, he gobbled it up in no time…and then proceeded to ask for it…constantly. I had no real qualms with this – it’s incredibly easy and very fast, great for a quick lunch or weeknight supper. The flavors are great, and I can mix it up by adding rice, my favorite scallion pancakes, or other veggies into the pork mixture. The problem is, I just don’t like to make the same things over and over again. Why? Because of you, my lovely readers! But Matt came into the kitchen hautily one day and informed me that I’d never put this recipe on my blog. Ha! He thwarted the system, and I made it again.


Spicy Ground Pork over Sauteed Scallions (“Ants on a Log”)

Served 2.
Leftover Potential: Reheats well, or the raw pork mixture can be used for other meals, as well.

2 Tbsp sesame oil
2 bunches scallions, ends and any wilted pieces removed

1 lb ground pork
1 onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup soy sauce
3 Tbsp rice vinegar
1 Tbsp oyster sauce
2 tsp sriracha, or more to taste

sesame seeds, toasted, for garnishing

1. In a large saute pan, heat the sesame oil over medium heat. Add the scallions and cook, tossing occasionally, until soft and wilted, about 4-6 minutes. Transfer to a dish.
2. In a large bowl, mix the pork, onion, garlic, soy, vinegar, oyster sauce, and sriracha to combine.
3. Add the pork to the hot pan once the scallions have been removed. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the pork has browned and cooked through.
4. Spoon the pork and any juices over the scallions, and finish with a sprinkling of toasted sesame seeds.

2 Responses

  1. This looks great! I love that your nephew chimed in and thought it was peanut butter and celery….that is what I would have thought too 🙂

  2. I can’t believe he’s going to be 4! Sigh. Your story totally made be tear up a little because I can absolutely see him running in so excited.

    And she probably thought you were eating peanut butter and celery and still made “the face”. What kid hates peanut butter??

Leave a Reply

