• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Chicken Enchilada Casserole

First of all, let me apologize for my recent lack of posting. On Saturday, I flew home to Kansas and have spent the last few days doing work (for an exciting upcoming blog project) and, of course, cooking away for the big day tomorrow. But one of the last things I made before I left New York was this tasty casserole which I made to replicate one of my favorite dishes at a Mexican restaurant: green onion chicken enchiladas.

I cook with green onions a lot, but they are usually chopped or minced pretty finely. This dish is has great flavor and texture that’s a little bit different than your typical “taco casserole”. Enchilada sauce ties it all together, but in an easy to assemble, layered casserole that’s easy to make and tasty to eat.

Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Makes one 9″x13″ casserole
Leftover Potential: Reheats wonderfully in the microwave or in the oven.

8 medium corn tortillas (or 16 of the small kind)
2 Tbsp oil
1 onion, diced
1 bunch green onions, sliced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb ground chicken
salt and pepper, as needed
2 tsp paprika
2 tsp cumin
1 tsp coriander
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

4 cups enchilada sauce
1 1/2 cups diced green chiles
pepperjack cheese, grated, as needed (optional)

1. Lightly grease the casserole dish. Layer 1/3 of the tortillas along the base of the pan (I tore a few to make sure I covered the entire surface).
2. In a large saute pan, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the onions and saute until tender, about 4 minutes. Add the garlic and saute until fragrant, about 1 minute more.
3. Add the chicken and cook until nicely browned, about 6-8 minutes. Season with salt, pepper, and spices.
4. Spread about 1/2 of the chicken mixture on top of the tortillas. Top with 1/3 of the green chiles, and 1/3 of the enchilada sauce. Repeat with more tortillas, chicken, chiles, and sauce. On the final layer, top with tortillas to cover, the remaining chiles and sauce, and (if desired) a sprinkling of pepperjack cheese.
5. Bake the casserole until it is bubbly and the cheese has browned nicely, about 1525 minutes. Serve warm.

3 Responses

  1. I was wondering at what temperature I should cook this dish. There isn’t a temperature suggested through the recipe. Thank you.

  2. Nikki – Sorry about that, I baked it at about 350, until the filling was bubbly, then turned on the broiler for about a minute or two to brown the surface.

  3. I made this last night. Although I had to make some substitutions (turkey instead of chicken, green chile enchilada sauce as opposed to green chiles AND enchilada sauce) it was AMAZING! It’s the first recipe I’ve tried from your blog and I’ll be sure to try some more! I’m just learning how to cook and a lot of your recipes are pretty straight forward which makes it easier for us beginners! THANKS!

Leave a Reply

