• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Rosemary Onion Foccacia

I have a hard time posting recipes when I’m home, because I often don’t get a chance to photograph them! The smell of freshly baked bread wafting through the air, or of cinnamon baking in the oven, or gobs of melted chocolate send everyone in the house to the kitchen to see what’s cooking. Which is why I was delighted to get some prep done before we headed to my grandma’s for a Christmas celebration earlier this week…I made several loaves of this onion-rosemary foccacia and was able to snap photos to my hearts content before it was devoured with cheese, meats, spreads, and three kinds of soup at my grandma’s that afternoon.

I’m sure most of you are already prepared for your Christmas feasts, but if you’re snowed in (like I am today), maybe a loaf of fresh bread is just what you need to make it through the day. Well, that, and all of your new presents. Merry Christmas everyone!

Rosemary Onion Foccacia


Makes 2 large or 3 small loaves.
Leftover Potential: Freezes well if you want to make it ahead, and will taste good for a few days after it’s made, especially if you warm it up in the oven.
Preferment
1 3/4 cups (241 grams) bread flour
1/2 cup (133 grams) water
pinch (0.1 grams) yeast
Dough
5 cups (747 grams) bread flour
1 Tbsp grams salt
2 1/2 cups (583 grams) water
1/4 cup (60 grams) olive oil
1 tsp (8 grams) honey
1 Tbsp (3 grams) yeast

1 onion, very thinly sliced
4 Tbsp rosemary, chopped
olive oil, as needed
kosher salt, as needed

1. In a large bowl, mix the flour, water, and yeast to combine completely. Cover, and let ferment for at least 3 hours, and up to overnight.
2. In a large bowl (or the bowl of a mixer) mix the flour and salt to combine. Add the water, olive oil, honey, yeast, and the preferment, and mix to a smooth dough. This will take about 5-7 minutes in a mixer and 10-12 minutes by hand.
3. Cover the dough and let rise for about 1 hour, or until double in size.
4. Oil a baking sheet and place the dough onto it. Press and stretch the dough to make it about 1/2″ thick. Let rise for about 15-30 minutes.
5. Press and stretch the dough out to the desired thickness, and top with onions and rosemary. Bake in a 425 degree oven until the dough is golden brown and baked through. If desired finish the bread under the broiler for a minute or two to create a nice, brown surface and caramelized onions.
6. Brush the finished bread with olive oil, and sprinkle with kosher salt.

3 Responses

  1. I WILL be making this. But I just finished making 18 loaves of bread-shaped bread (over a couple of days), so not for a while.

  2. I made this yesterday, it was easy, and everyone loved it! We couldn’t find any rosemary in all of Grinnell so I used oregano instead, it worked well. We had a little leftover today – it kept really well overnight.

  3. this looks faNTASTIC!!! i’m dreaming of all the awesome sandwiches it could make 🙂

Leave a Reply

