• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Creamy Red Quinoa

I’ve loved quinoa since the first time I tasted it. I knew it was this super healthy whole grain sold only in health food stores (i.e. not exactly a reason to get super excited). But from first bite I was hooked. The texture is amazing – like tiny pieces of popcorn, and the flavor is perfect – slightly nutty but still mild enough to take on any flavors you add to it. I kept this dish simple by adding lots of garlic and onions and cooking it in chicken broth. Using broth instead of water makes incredibly buttery tasting grains. To give it a bit of creaminess, I added a little bit of Greek yogurt, which made it almost decadent. And in the spirit of the New Year, it couldn’t be more good for you. Yum yum.


Creamy Red Quinoa


Served 2.
Leftover Potential: This is a dish thats easy to make with the exact amount youd like double for four people, etc. Otherwise it will reheat ok, though some texture may suffer.

1 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup red quinoa (or regular quinoa)
3/4 1 cup chicken or vegetable broth
2 Tbsp Greek yogurt
salt, as needed

1. In a small pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and saute until translucent, about 4 minutes.
2. Add the garlic and saute until fragrant, about 1 minute more. Add the quinoa, stirring to combine and coat lightly with the oil.
3. Add 3/4 cup of chicken broth and bring to a simmer. Cook until the liquid has been absorbed, about 12-15 minutes. If the quinoa doesn’t taste tender, add more broth and keep cooking until it is completely tender.
4. Stir in the Greek yogurt and salt, and serve immediately.
One Response

  1. I love quinoa too! The first time I had it was in LA and I immediately feel in love 🙂 Great recipe!

Leave a Reply

