• erin

    Dumplings with my family
    A recent graduate of The Culinary Institute of America, I found myself with no money, no kitchen equipment, and an exceptionally huge appetite. Ideas, improvisations, and yummy meal solutions were discovered in the kitchen of my very first apartment.
  • what sounds good?

    I've been getting a lot of requests and suggestions for the apartment kitchen. I LOVE these suggestions, keep them coming!

    If you have anything you'd like me to consider (recipes to develop, shortcuts for recipes, great ingredients, or even blog formatting), shoot me an email and let me know!

    em570039@mycia.net

  • equipment spotlight

  • ingredient spotlight

  • this month’s packed lunch

  • hungry for more?

    Check out my food journeys at An Appetite for Adventure!
  • webmaster: chris hurte
  • author portrait: matt needham
  • © erin mcdowell and the apartment kitchen, 2009-10. all photography and content, unless otherwise indicated, is property of the author. unauthorized reproduction or use is prohibited. please ask before using.
  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Recipe Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • become my fan on facebook!

    Just click HERE

Panfried Pork Chops with Tomato-Mushroom Sauce

What? You think I’m using way too many mushrooms? Well, you’re right. I even hid the mushrooms from you in the meatball sub (I put mine on as a last minute addition after I’d assembled and photographed Matt’s sandwich). I admit it, I am a mushroom addict. There is reason to my madness – they were massively on sale at my market last week. And, I’m totally in love with them.

So yes, I made a mushroom sauce for some pork chops over the weekend. But this sauce has tomatoes stirred in, which gives it acidity and a really nice body (i.e. you add tomatoes and you’ve got insta-sauce). So I figure this could be a tomato-onion sauce, a tomato-corn sauce, a tomato-cauliflower sauce, a tomato-sausage sauce…you pick. Or, if you’re a mushroom obsessed diner like me, you can leave them in.

Either way, don’t worry. I’m out of mushrooms. For now, anyway…

Panfried Pork Chops with TomatoMushroom Sauce

Served 4.
Leftover Potential: I had two pork chops leftover, which made for some pretty decent sandwiches with some of the leftover sauce and some arugula.

4 thin pork chops
salt and pepper, to taste
flour, as needed for breading
1 egg, lightly beaten
breadcrumbs, as needed for breading
3 Tbsp olive oil

1 Tbsp olive oil
1 onion, thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 basket mushrooms, thinly sliced
1/3 cup crushed tomatoes
1 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp dried oregano
salt and pepper, to taste

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Season the pork chops with salt and pepper.
2. Dredge the pork chops in the flour, then the egg, then the breadcrumbs. Be sure they are fully coated each step of the way.
3. Heat the olive oil over medium heat. When the oil is hot, add the pork chops and panfry until they are golden brown on both sides, about 3-4 minutes per side.
4. Transfer the pan to the oven (be sure it’s totally oven safe – no plastic handles, etc.) and bake until cooked through. Lower the oven temperature to simply keep the pork warm, if needed.
5. In a large saute pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and saute until translucent, about 4-5 minutes. Add the garlic and mushrooms and cook until the mushrooms have softened, about 5 minutes more.
6. Deglaze the pan with the tomatoes. Stir in the herbs, salt, and pepper. Bring the sauce to a simmer and cook until the liquid has evaporated slightly, about 3-5 minutes.
7. Add the cooked pork chops to the sauce. Serve immediately.
One Response

  1. Delicious! I’m a huge fan of mushrooms too. I would put them in just about anything if I could 🙂 On top of these pork chops they look delicious too. This sauce sounds amazing.

Leave a Reply

